I choose to be Happy today.

Hey All —

I cannot believe it has been two years since we blogged about our backpacking ways. I also can’t believe that we are onto our next adventure. For those of you that are just tuning in, John and I are officially Hawaiian residents. Why did we choose a remote set of islands in the Central Pacific? It has never been a distance thing, Hawaii has always been our place…our “if we can dream it, we can do it.”

The plan has always been at the back of our minds, with the universe and its course coming first. I have always wanted to stay somewhat close to home after my mom got sick. Although, she constantly let me know to follow my heart and never be unhappy, it didn’t quite feel like the right time. What is special to me is that she knew this plan was in place and more than anything, she loved our sense of adventure. We had a rough date of when we wanted to go, but at the end of the summer life took a dramatic shift. My mom had fiercely battled stage IV colon cancer for nearly 3.5 years like a champion. I’m talking superhero, my bright light, fave lady who never faced a day without a smile, or her crazy loud laugh. I can’t even put into words how much of an inspiration she will continue to be for me. ALWAYS. And I know this move is a gift from her, as there will be many more gifts throughout the years.

Life isn’t fair, but that’s why they call it life, right? I’ve learned a tremendous amount these past few months. I’ve learned that I can be strong, while some days I won’t want to get out of bed. I’ve learned that I have the most amazing support system–husband, dad, family, friends, acquaintances–near and far–you know who you are. Thank you.  I’ve learned that trauma and grief can bring disappointment, some people don’t know how to react or feel it’s best to not say a thing, I get it. But I’m telling you even if it’s one small sentence, that means the world to someone in pain. I’ve learned that everyone has or will experience unimaginable grief, and kindness will and should always prevail. That is sometimes not the case, but news flash people, it should be. Life is SHORT, days become routine, but it is so important to surround yourself with those that share kindness, and bring you joy. That is truly what it is all about. Not happy? Then it is time to change something, and only you can be the one to make that change. It is often hard to do so, but do it for yourself. Finding peace and comfort in your own self is where it begins. That is what fueled our decision to move here. It starts with taking that (giant) leap of faith, and then those other things will fall into place, I promise.

I won’t be drafting a political post today, I haven’t said one thing about the election. I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion, belief, love, vote…my list goes on. That is what makes this world of ours so beautiful, and unique. So I am going to keep believing in our people to bring this nation together and find peace. I am going to continue to choose joy, be happy, find love, smile and laugh my way through this unpredictable rollercoaster that is life. Because if I don’t, I would not be making my momma proud. And that is why Hawaii happened. More than anything I know this a huge gift and we are running with it, each day is a gift my friends. I will be updating the blog to keep everyone in the know with North Shore life. It also gives me a chance to get back to writing 🙂

Be well.

Much Love,

K.

11 responses to “I choose to be Happy today.

  1. Kelcie and John,

    Thanks for including us on your updates. We’ve been thinking about you both..…so envious of your new place you call “Home”. We just had a nice weekend at a wedding with your folks, Kathy and John. Road trip to Mechanicsburg,PA……Yahoo!

    Kelcie, you will feel your mom’s presence so profoundly in that beautiful Hawaiian sunshine and breathtaking landscapes. You are exactly where she would want you to be. 🙂

    Enjoy every day, every moment.

    Best Wishes!!

    Beth (and Roger) Varma

    >

  2. I am so proud of you. Ever since we met when we were 12 years old, I’ve always been so proud to call you my friend. Always look beyond the horizon, keep dreaming, and never stop exploring. I love you friend, so happy for you both, and the new place you call home! ❤ xxx

  3. Kelcie and John,

    Thank you so much for including me on your new adventure! Your words are so beautiful and important for us all to remember.

    I look forward to more pictures (how wonderful!) and updates.

    I’m sure your mom is so very proud of you and happy that you have this experience.

    Can’t wait for your next installment!

    Love,

    Barb

  4. Hi Kelcie and John,

    There’s an article in today’s Lancaster paper that I thought might interest you. The couple reminds me of you!:)

    You can find it at Lancasteronline.com in the food+living section.

    Hope you enjoy it! Maybe you and this couple can hook up when they visit Hawaii…

    Love,

    Barb

Leave a Reply

